My Bouquet

My Bouquet. *)
As a beaming bride, dusted with glitters and a huge smile from ear-to-ear, I was now more than ready to throw the bouquet for those single ladies who were eager to catch it, as tradition indicates.

On the day of our wedding my husband gave me the most beautiful bouquet I ever encountered. (Yes, of course it is the most beautiful one, because it was mine 😀 )

Groom with bouqet
Groom (HN) entering the front door with the bouquet.

Even though I am still as allergic as ever  I was proudly holding it and posing with it. **)

Screenshot_2018-03-20-11-39-47.png
… ah, there I am 😉

The mystery behind throwing and catching will remain just that: a mystery. Though I have to say I enjoyed throwing mine and I made a wish for whomever would catch it.
A simple wish of love, joy and prosperity.

I still smile when I think about 2016, when I was so afraid of catching a bouquet. In fear of the meaning of catching any bouquet.
Catching a bouquet = you are next!
Marriage!

Marriage, an institute for which I never showed interest before I met my husband. At least, never openly.
Marriage, something that I was not sure of, because I feared the unknown.
Marriage, that bond which meant sharing and giving all of yourself, which in turn meant I had to open up and be vulnerable.

Yet, secretly, I sometimes allowed myself to dream of having my own home, filled with joy and love. Sharing life with a partner, a husband, the father of my child(ren), a best friend and partner-in-crime. Someone to laugh with, to cry with, to be silly with, to sing and dance with. Someone to enjoy the tiny pleasures of life, to go on adventures with and share and build precious memories with. Someone to love freely and to have and to hold. Hmm… Yes.

That feeling of inner joy, that feeling as if your skin is literally breathing, that feeling of pleasure and love, joy and peace. That feeling that gives me goosebumps and butterflies. That feeling of just. That feeling of peace. That feeling of hope and strength. That feeling of dignity and courage.
I felt it all at once the moment I met my husband. I didn’t want to acknowledge it, because I was stirred, intrigued, scared, falling-in-love, and denial was so much easier.

But I couldn’t walk away from it.  Nope, he even told me so! “You won’t get rid of me.”

And then… then I opened up – fast paced – i dreaded it sometimes to open up, it hurt, it made me cry, but at the same pace I felt the relief. I felt the burdens that I was carrying being lifted from my shoulder and being tossed away. The tougher it got to open up, the more he pushed in his own clever way. I felt the peace seeping in, I accepted his way and I allowed myself to let him help me.
Oh yes, because I eagerly wanted him to help me too 😉

Yep, I knew it was time for him and me. This was so different. I felt my surroundings move in ways I only knew that existed from practicing Tai Chi.
I still enjoy it each day and wish for my husband and I to keep this special spark alive, flaming and blooming for eternity. With his love and his support, his wisdom and his courage I am even more glowing. Inspired to not only change myself for the better, but help change the world and spread love and peace.

I felt it all on our wedding-day. I am alive 🙂

… I keep looking at pictures of my bouquet. Smiling at those beautiful memories, feeling life breathing trough my body and so full of enthusiasm to create new precious memories every single day forward.

A manifestation of growing love.

“Ik heb je lief” ~ Paul de Leeuw

*)  Read “The Bouquet”:
https://ink4viola.wordpress.com/2016/02/08/the-bouqet/

**) Unfortunately, these flowers (including the boutonnieres and my own corsage) as beautiful as they were, were the cause of inflammation on the inner-side of my nose. After almost one-and-a-half month it is now finally healed again. BUT I still love my bouquet. 😀 

Leave a comment